Watch: John Jackson’s Air Time

I met John Jackson about four years ago as an intern at Bonfire. I was up in Government Camp, helping out with the Bonfire Pipe to Pipe and John wanders in to say hello to Java or someone else I’m with. He walks over to us and extends his hand to me- on it is the tiniest kitten I’ve ever seen. He asks me if I want to pet his kitty. After a second I realize, no- that’s just a fake kitten made of rabbit fur. But the earnest look in his eyes when he first asked me had made me second guess whether that was a toy or not. Later on I saw him walking around with it tucked into a headband in his dreads.

I just watched episode 3, part 2 of Air Time and it made me think of the first time I ran into this guy. I was put off at first, but then realized I was intrigued and didn’t want to stop watching the video. Also, it ends with them picking up an impossibly tiny puppy in Mexico (that I didn’t believe was real- first kittens, now puppies).

[You can find all of John Jackson’s episodes of Air Time on Transworld]

Leave a Reply

